Overview

The Essential Services Commission regulates the pricing of water services for consumers within Victoria.

South Gippsland Water submitted a pricing proposal for the period 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2023, and the commission reviewed this submission. As part of our review, we sought feedback from customers and stakeholders of South Gippsland Water at multiple points throughout the price review process to inform our decision-making process.

The commission conducted this review under a new pricing framework, which:

  • promotes better value and outcomes for Victorian water customers, and
  • requires water businesses to undertake meaningful customer engagement to inform their price submissions.
The commission has published its final decision. It sets service levels and an upper limit on prices that go into the water bill for the next three years from 1 July 2020.

Key facts from our final decision

The typical annual residential owner occupier water bill for 2020‑21* is estimated to be $1,060 including inflation, and for 2022‑23 will be $1,121 before inflation.

*2020-21 annual bill is calculated based on a weighted average of prices maintained at a flat rate for the period 1 July 2020 to 31 October 2020 and a 5 per cent increase for the period 1 November 2020 to 30 June 2020.

Prices will remain flat initially in response to COVID‑19, then increase by five per cent from 1 November 2020, two per cent in 2021-22 and two per cent in 2022-23.

There are no significant changes to tariff structures or the proportion of fixed and variable charges.

South Gippsland Water consulted with customers to revise the customer outcomes and guaranteed service levels it will deliver and report on during the regulatory period.

Reliability targets for service standards will be similar to past years. Payments for guaranteed service levels remain unchanged.

Our consultation

How we engaged

The commission sought feedback from South Gippsland Water customers and stakeholders on South Gippsland Water's price submission and the commission's draft decision. The commission consulted by:

  • seeking feedback on our draft decision in our virtual public forum
  • making the water team available to give you a call to discuss our draft decision or,
  • seeking submissions through this Engage Victoria page.

What we did with your feedback

During the consultation period (November 2019 - April 2020), we had over 1 000 visits to the commission's website and over 200 visits to this Engage Victoria page. The commission received two submissions to our draft decision on South Gippsland Water's price submission, one from South Gippsland Water and an anonymous customer submission which raised concerns about the impact of South Gippsland Water’s proposed price increases for low income families.

We considered how South Gippsland Water engaged with their customers to inform their price submission. South Gippsland Water’s price submission provided clear and comprehensive information supporting its proposals. It also provided evidence that its engagement captured the main priorities and concerns of customers and that it has taken this feedback into account.

Consultation on the draft decision on South Gippsland Water prices has now closed.

Provide a short summary of your question.

You have 150 characters left.

Provide detailed information relating to your question.

You have 500 characters left.

Select a respondent from the list that you would most like to answer your question.

Moderation Policy

These are the people that are listening and responding to your questions.

The water team

Our regulatory team comprising economists, pricing experts , engineers and engagement specialists.

{{question.description}}

{{ answer.respondent.name }}

| Edited

Answer this question

Select the respondent who will be marked as answering the question

Provide the answer to the question. Question can be saved as draft and published when complete.

No questions found

Collection notice

As part of making a submission, we need you to provide personal information, such as your name, email address, town of residence and postcode. We will use this information to send you updates about this review.

It is our policy to publish all submissions to reviews on the Essential Services Commission website. This process may involve publishing your personal information (your name, not your address). You can request anonymity by selecting the relevant tickbox.

We may also collect personal information when you email us with a query. Aside from any exceptions in relevant privacy legislation, we will not use or disclose the information you provide for any purpose other than to progress and respond to your query.

You have the right to access personal information we hold about you. We may ask you to pay a small fee for this. You can also request that we correct your personal information in our records at no charge.

Requesting anonymity

You can request anonymity by selecting the relevant tickbox on this page. Depending on the circumstances, requesting anonymity may affect the weight we can give to your submission. Information that influences our decisions generally needs to be disclosed so stakeholders can understand the reasons for our findings.

Read more information about our submissions policy.