About Climate Ready Hume

The Victorian Government is partnering with communities to address impacts resulting from the changing climate.

Climate Ready Hume is a three-year program developing a Hume Regional Climate Change Adaptation Strategy (Strategy), whilst supporting local projects, education and awareness on climate change adaptation.

Hume Regional Adaptation Strategy (RAS) has been released!

The Hume Regional Climate Change Adaptation Strategy has been released and is now available here.

The Regional Adaptation Strategies (RAS) are five-year practical strategies developed by the community to address the unique challenges and opportunities that climate change brings to Victoria’s regions and guide locally relevant practical action.

Victorian communities have come together to lead the development of the RASs (with the support of the Victorian Government and funded by the Sustainability Fund) in each of DELWP’s six regions: Barwon South West, Gippsland, Greater Melbourne (Port Phillip), Grampians, Hume, and Loddon Mallee. The RASs provide a tailored place-based approach to build Victoria’s resilience by identifying local needs and priorities, and guiding collaborative, localised and practical action over the next five years.

The RASs are the culmination of over three years of work with over 8,000 people involved or engaged across Victoria. The process has been informed by the latest climate change science and previous community engagement, with community-based working groups guided by a framework co-developed by DELWP and experts from the RMIT University, Griffith University, and other resilience specialists from across Australia.

The Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio's media release launching the RAS is here.

Important Dates

Friday 17 December 2021

Hume Regional Adaptation Strategy Launched!

Thursday 7 October 2021 – Friday 17 December 2021 05:00 pm

Community Mini Grants open for applications!

Hume Region, north east Victoria.

Hume region, North east Victoria.

Climate Ready Hume includes all Hume regional councils:

Alpine Shire Council, Benalla Rural City Council, Greater Shepparton City Council, Indigo Shire Council, Mansfield Shire Council, Mitchell Shire Council, Moira Shire Council, Murrindindi Shire Council, Strathbogie Shire Council, Towong Shire Council, Wangaratta Rural City Council and Wodonga Council.

Climate Ready Hume Newsletter

Would you like to sign up to Hume Regions monthly climate change and renewable energy newsletter?

Click climateready.hume@delwp.vic.gov.au and write SUBSCRIBE in the subject line.

To request an alternative format of these previous newsletters please contact us at



Your privacy is important to us:

All information will be used as collated results for the sole purpose of informing climate change programs for Hume and the Hume Regional Climate Change Adaptation Strategy.

The collection, use and disclosure of your personal information is bound by the Privacy and Data Protection Act 2014 (Vic) (PDP Act). We will only collect and use personal information in accordance with the PDP Act and the Information Privacy Principles.

For further information please visit: https://www2.delwp.vic.gov.au/boards-and-governance/privacy