The Victorian Government wants to help regional communities adapt to the impacts of climate change.

Supporting our Regions to Adapt is a $9.3 million program funded by the Sustainability Fund.

Each DELWP region has completed a climate change adaptation gap analysis to find out about work that has already been done across the state.

The analyses demonstrate a need for a practical climate change adaptation strategy for each region.

Adaptation is

Agriculture: adaptation is protecting agricultural land, managing risks, profitability, resilience and opportunities in a changing climate

Biodiversity: adaptation is building species and ecosystem resilience and functionality for long-term viability

Economy: adaptation is recognising that finance, business risk, insurability and profitability underpin regional and rural economies

Fire: adaptation is preparing for earlier and longer seasons of more intense and widespread fire

Health and wellbeing: adaptation is minimising the direct and indirect impacts of climate change on people's health and wellbeing

Heat: adaptation is preparing for more extreme heat in the built environment and its impacts on people

Storms and flooding: adaptation is preparing for increased and more intense storms and flooding

Water: adaptation is changing the way we think about and use water to increase resilience to long-term climate change

Adaptation does not include solar panels, wind farms, electric vehicles and other climate change mitigation actions. The Grampians New Energy Taskforce (GNET) is leading the region's emissions reduction efforts. Visit https://www.gnet.org.au/roadmap-to-zero-page for more information.

The Grampians Region Climate Adaptation Strategy will be developed by the community. It will outline a shared direction and priority actions for climate change adaptation in the region.

Grampians region

Map of the Grampians region, which includes the local government areas of Ararat, Ballarat, Golden Plains, Hepburn, Hindmarsh, Horsham, Moorabool, Northern Grampians, Pyrenees, West Wimmera and Yarriambiack.

The Grampians region includes the 11 local government areas of Ararat, Ballarat, Golden Plains, Hepburn, Moorabool and Pyrenees (Central Highlands) and Hindmarsh, Horsham, Northern Grampians, West Wimmera and Yarriambiack (Wimmera).

The region covers country cared for by Dja Dja Wurrung, Eastern Maar, Gunditj Mara, Wadawurrung, Wurundjeri and Wotjobaluk (Jaadwa, Jadawadjali, Jupagulk, Wergaia and Wotjobaluk) peoples for many generations. We pay respect to their Elders, culture and continued connection to land and waters.

We would like to hear from you

Survey closes Monday 1 February 2021
What is your interest in climate change adaptation?